Studious

Studious

A blog from SoloPortfolio about content marketing.

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Lightbulbs, Darts and Compasses: The Ugly Manifesto

November 10, 2010 , , , ,

I am issuing an all-out ban on ridiculously campy images as metaphors for business acumen–starting with light bulbs, darts and compasses. And by “campy” I don’t mean cute-campy like when yuppersnappers go and collect vintage anatomical models, but seriously ugly-outdated campy. At the risk of offending many in one fell swoop, I hereby declare that I believe light bulbs, darts and compasses are visual cliches and should NEVER appear in anything, evermore.

No more brightly lit bulbs to suggest blinding brilliance (the effect is rather the opposite, i.m.o.).

No more dartboards that suggest, “I sure did nail that one… and while I’m at it, I’m drinking an import! What are you doing?

No more compasses that shout, “In the world of business, I’m an Eagle Scout.”

I also forever ban:

  • Disembodied arms engaging in firm handshakes
  • The clear-glass whiteboard (this addition compliments of Rochelle Seltzer)
  • Diversity as modeled by many-colored hands reaching to the sky
  • The fake business meeting, especially if it includes this guy below (who figures in 60% of all iStock faux-meetings).

In my next installment, I’ll be showing you some B2B images that are refreshing… dare I say artistic? But in the meantime, please share your favorite campy-means-ugly images with me! (And if you recently used an ugly image as mentioned above, I’m so sorry.)

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

It’s true! They are so used and common places that they don’t mean almost anything. We organiza every year a photograph contest about different and open matters to get fresh and original images.
Flickr discovers also great material and artists.

Who have not use them due to lack of good shots or because they are so “convenient”? The worst for me is the smiling-faces meeting.

I like your post.I am going to forward to our comms team;)

carina Pueyo

November 13, 2010

Hi Carina: I agree… so many rich and interesting images on Flickr. Another great resource for lower-cost artwork and photography are local design schools. Thanks for stopping by!
-Clare

soloportfolio

November 13, 2010

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

